Leon Kruczkowski High School in Tychy was established in 1953 as a result of a decision of local authorities in Katowice. On the 20th of August that year, there was the first conference conducted by Franciszek Teper and on the 29th, after the first entrance exam, 40 students were admitted. For some time the school was housed in different buildings, until on the 24th of March 1963 it was given new premises at Korczaka street, where it is still situated. Then the school was also named as Leon Kruczkowski High School to commemorate a famous Polish playwright, with whom the first headteacher, Franciszek Teper, spent 5 years in the prisoner of war camps (Arnswalde, Grossborn) during the Second World War.
Four years later, on the 24th of June 1967, parent-teacher association provided the school with its own flag. The school started developing and every year it got bigger and bigger.
Today the school may boast its own library, a huge common room, doctor’s surgery, sports facilities, an IT lab, a climbing wall and well-equipped classrooms. There is also a School Gallery of Painting and Graphic Art.